Upper St. Clair

Twenty-five Upper St. Clair High School seniors were recently recognized as Commended Students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Scoring in the top 3 percent of the more than 1.5 million students who completed the 2019 Preliminary SAT were:

Benjamin Bacdayan, Atharva Barve, Gabriella Brubach, Anish Chigurupati, Antara Cleetus, Zhenru Fang, Taylor Finkelstein, Daniela Gibbons, Reshma Gudla, Eileen Guo, Alexander Happ, Bryce Keating, Benjamin Lang, Andrew Levy, Brianna Lin, Lucas Manalo, Rohan Mishra, Jack Myers, Madeline Nolen, Alyssa Robert, Ryan Sarkett, Shilp Shah, Grace Suter, Justin Yu and Henry Zou.

In September, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the program’s Semifinalists, which included 11 Upper St. Clair seniors. In total, 36 Upper St. Clair students earned recognition as a Semifinalist or Commended Student in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Upper St. Clair School District has postponed the 2020 Halls of Fame induction class and corresponding events until next fall, when the district will recognize two induction classes, 2020 and 2021, during the annual event.

“While we highly value our Halls of Fame program and the opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of our alumni, current restrictions due to COVID-19 make hosting the event this fall impossible,” Timothy Wagner, Upper St. Clair High School principal and chairman of the Halls of Fame committee, said.

Founded in 2000, the Upper St. Clair Halls of Fame honors those who have distinguished themselves in academics, the arts, or athletics at the high school, collegiate or professional level and who, in so doing, have contributed to the pride and prestige of Upper St. Clair High School.

See what people are talking about at The Community Table!